

Foundation Awards and Recognition

Service Hours Award Certificates

Certificates of appreciation are awarded for outstanding commitment to Do Good: Service for Sight Hours. Certificates are presented to the top ten alumnae groups and top ten collegiate chapters annually that report the highest average number of service hours through Anchorbase.

H.K. Stuart Spirit of Service Award

The H.K. Stuart Spirit of Service Award is reserved for collegiate chapters and alumnae groups that exhibit the spirit of dedication and service which is exemplified in the life of Helen Catherine (H.K.) Davis Stuart, Kappa-Nebraska.

The award is presented every Convention year to at least one collegiate chapter and one alumnae group. The names of the winners are engraved on a special plaque that is on display at Delta Gamma Executive Offices in Columbus, Ohio. A generous donation is sent on behalf of each winner to a Delta Gamma initiative or local organization of their choice that carries out the mission of the Foundation. Application forms are due to Executive Offices by May 1 (during Convention years only) and can be completed online through SmarterSelect.

Theta Chapter of Delta Gamma Collegiate Leadership Award Honoring Patricia Peterson Danielson

This award will be given biennially to a collegian who is still an undergraduate, has graduated at the most recent commencement event, or has finished all course work and will graduate at the next scheduled commencement event. The applicant has made and is continuing to make a significant leadership contribution to their campus, community, place of worship, state/province, nation or world in an area of philanthropy or philanthropic service. The applicant has exhibited a high level of vision and commitment to a philanthropic endeavor outside of chapter responsibilities through leadership, service, time and effort. The applicant has exhibited a high degree of personal initiative and creativity in pursuing this philanthropic endeavor or service. Application forms are due to Executive Offices by February 15 (during Convention years only) and can be completed online through SmarterSelect.



The Catherine Stuart Schmoker Principled Alumnae Leadership Award

This award will be given biennially to a Delta Gamma alumna in good standing who has made and is continuing to make a significant leadership contribution to their community, place of worship, state/province, nation or world in an area of philanthropic service. Activities must have taken place within at least the last five years to be eligible for consideration. The applicant has exhibited a high level of vision and commitment to a philanthropic endeavor outside the scope of professional work or activities. This alumna continues to exhibit a high level of commitment to a philanthropic endeavor or organization and has served demonstrably as a role model, a respected leader and a valued volunteer. The applicant has also shown a commitment to the financial needs of the endeavor or organization. Application forms are due to Executive Offices by February 15 (during Convention years only) and can be completed online through SmarterSelect.

Faculty Award

The last Faculty Award was given in 2022 at Delta Gamma Convention in Philadelphia and has being retired.

Mildred Moyer Baynard Award for Excellence in the Field of Blindness

This award is given at each Convention and honors a local organization that has done exceptional work enhancing the lives of those with vision loss. It is not necessary to apply for this award and is given at the discretion of the Foundation Board of Trustees.

Frankie Ladley Wakefield Parnassus Award

The Frankie Ladley Wakefield Parnassus Award is presented annually to one collegiate chapter and two runners-up. This scholarship recognition will be awarded to chapters that have exhibited an extraordinary level of intellectual curiosity and integrity while maintaining excellence in overall scholastic programming and performance during the previous year.

To be considered for this honor, chapters must have maintained a 3.00 GPA for each of the terms within the school year previous to the award year. The depth and breadth of chapter scholarship programming, participation in philanthropic activities and timely reporting will be considerations. The Regional Collegiate Specialists, Fraternity Director of Collegiate Programming, Director of Awards and the Council Trustee: Fraternity Programming will judge the applications.

The award has been permanently funded by a gift to the Delta Gamma Foundation by Frankie Ladley Wakefield, Alpha Eta-Whitman. The winner and runners-up receive a monetary gift and a plaque or certificate in recognition of their achievement. It was Mrs. Wakefield's wish to encourage collegians to pursue a lifelong interest in education, culture and the arts, and volunteer service.

Recognition for this award is presented at Convention during the even years. Chapters do not submit an application for this award.



Order of the Golden Anchor

The Order of the Golden Anchor confers a very special honor upon individuals who have demonstrated, through major accomplishments, unequalled loyalty to the ideals of the Delta Gamma Foundation.

A recipient must have fulfilled the mission of the Delta Gamma Foundation in an extraordinary manner. This person has helped meet the Foundation's charitable, scientific, educational or cultural objectives, on a national or international level, in a manner that has made a significant impact on our Foundation and society.

The recipient must have enhanced the work of the Foundation in an unprecedented and lasting manner through the above means as well as through service and/or fundraising.

It is not necessary for a recipient to be an initiated member of Delta Gamma Fraternity, nor is it necessary to apply as the award is given at the discretion of the Foundation Board of Trustees.

